Pike State Forest APV Area

The Pike Forest APV Area is one of four operated
by the Ohio Division of Forestry. The area is locat-
ed on State Route 124, three miles east of Sinking
Spring, Ohio.

The Novice Areas are large open fields that are rec-
ommended for inexperienced riders. Approximately
10 miles of trails traverse all types of terrain from flat
bottoms to steep ridges. These trails should only be
attempted by experienced riders.

APV Area Rule Summary

1. Trail bikes, motorcycles, and all-purpose vehicles are
the only vehicles permitted in the designated trail
areas. Each vehicle shall display a valid APV or
highway license. You should bring a copy of your
registration with you. (Put it in a waterproof bag and
store it under your seat with your tool kit).

2. APVs shall be operated only within the designated
area.

3. No person shall operate an APV having a width greater
than 62 inches.

4. The APV area is open for riding from one-half hour
before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset.

5. The APV area at Pike State Forest is closed from the
day after the end of deer gun season until March 31.

6. All transport vehicles and trailers should be parked in
the designated parking area for safety concerns.

7. Maximum speed limits are 5 mph in the parking area.
At no time shall an APV be operated at a speed
greater than that necessary to stop the vehicle in the
assured clear distance.

8. All operators shall wear protective headgear and eye
protection.

9. All operators shall have a valid, current motor vehicle
operator's license, except that minors less than 16
years of age may operate an APV if they are accompa-
nied by a licensed parent or guardian 18 years of age
or older.
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All vehicles shall be equipped with adequate brakes,
mufflers, and spark arrestors.

No person who is under the influence of alcohol or
drugs of abuse shall operate an APV.

No person shall operate an APV in such a manner as
to willfully damage or destroy vegetation and trails, or
for the purpose of chasing, capturing or killing wildlife.
Operators of APVs shall not carry or transport any
firearms or other weapons that are not unloaded and
securely encased.

No APV shall be used to carry more passengers than
the vehicle was designed to carry. Contact your
manufacturer for ride capacity.

No races or contests are permitted in the APV area.
Operators must report any accidents to the forest
headquarters within 24 hours. For accidents at Pike
or Richland Furnace, please call the Southern District
office at (740) 774-1596. This is in addition to the
reports necessary to be made to the local law
enforcement authorities. Call 911 in an emergency.
For more information on titling and registering

your APV, visit bmv.ohio.gov

OAC 1501:3-4 Motor Vehicles

VIOLATING FOREST RULES COULD LEAD TO
CITATIONS AND FINES, COURT APPEARANCE,
OR ARREST.

EMERGENCY INFORMATION

Location - Pike State Forest APV Area
State Route 124
Mifflin Township, Pike County
Closest Payphone - Long’s Retreat
Emergency Squad - Call 911
Pike County Sheriff - Call 911

Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Division of Forestry

345 Allen Avenue

Chillicothe, Ohio 45601

(740) 774-1596

Toll-free (877) 24STREE
forestry.ohiodnr.gov
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http://bmv.ohio.gov/registration_titling_apv_usv.stm

All data contained in this map is believed to be correct but not warranted.
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