
1. Trail bikes, motorcycles, and all-purpose vehicles are 

the only vehicles permitted in the designated trail    

areas. Each vehicle shall display a valid APV or      

highway license. You should bring a copy of your   

registration with you. (Put it in a waterproof bag and 

store it under your seat with your tool kit). 
2. APVs shall be operated only within the designated 

area.  
3. No person shall operate an APV having a width greater 

than 62 inches.  
4. The APV area is open for riding from one-half hour  

before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset.  
5. The APV area at Pike State Forest is closed from the 

day after the end of deer gun season until March 31.  
6. All transport vehicles and trailers should be parked in 

the designated parking area for safety concerns. 
7. Maximum speed limits are 5 mph in the parking area. 

At no time shall an APV be operated at a speed   

greater than that necessary to stop the vehicle in the      

assured clear distance.  
8. All operators shall wear protective headgear and eye 

protection.  
9. All operators shall have a valid, current motor vehicle 

operator's license, except that minors less than 16 

years of age may operate an APV if they are accompa-

nied by a licensed parent or guardian 18 years of age 

or older.  

The Pike Forest APV Area is one of four  operated 

by the Ohio Division of Forestry.  The area is   locat-

ed on State Route 124, three miles east of Sinking 

Spring, Ohio.  
 

The Novice Areas are  large open fields that are rec-

ommended for inexperienced riders.  Approximately 

10 miles of trails traverse all types of terrain from flat 

bottoms to steep ridges.  These trails should only be 

attempted by experienced riders.   
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10. All vehicles shall be equipped with adequate brakes, 

mufflers, and spark arrestors.  
11. No person who is under the influence of alcohol or 

drugs of abuse shall operate an APV.  
12. No person shall operate an APV in such a manner as 

to willfully damage or destroy vegetation and trails, or 

for the purpose of chasing, capturing or killing wildlife.  
13. Operators of APVs shall not carry or transport any 

firearms or other weapons that are not unloaded and 

securely encased.  
14. No APV shall be used to carry more passengers than 

the vehicle was designed to carry. Contact your   

manufacturer for ride capacity. 
15. No races or contests are permitted in the APV area.  
16. Operators must report any accidents to the forest 

headquarters within 24 hours. For accidents at Pike 

or Richland Furnace, please call the Southern District 

office at (740) 774-1596. This is in addition to the 

reports necessary to be made to the local law        

enforcement authorities. Call 911 in an emergency.  
17. For more information on titling and registering 

your APV, visit bmv.ohio.gov

18. OAC 1501:3-4 Motor Vehicles 

Pike State Forest APV Area 

APV Area Rule Summary 

EMERGENCY INFORMATION 

Location - Pike State Forest APV Area  
 State Route 124 
 Mifflin Township, Pike County 
Closest Payphone - Long’s Retreat 
Emergency Squad - Call 911 
Pike County Sheriff - Call 911 
 
Ohio Department of Natural Resources  

Division of Forestry  

345 Allen Avenue  
Chillicothe, Ohio 45601  
(740) 774-1596 
Toll-free (877) 24STREE  
forestry.ohiodnr.gov  

STATE FOREST 

VIOLATING FOREST RULES COULD LEAD TO      
CITATIONS AND FINES, COURT APPEARANCE,  

OR ARREST.  

APV AREA 

http://bmv.ohio.gov/registration_titling_apv_usv.stm
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   PIKE State  Forest  APV Trai l  Map  
All data contained in this map is believed to be correct but not warranted.  

State forest boundary lines are marked with signs and/or yellow paint marks on trees.  

Map reviewed and approved by Robert Boyles,  Chief, ODNR Division of Forestry, 03/2015  




